V6 Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang V6 Performance and Technical Information

LCAs in, but....

Search this Thread

Old 8/23/06, 08:45 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
LCAs in, but....

First off, I'd like to say that this was probably the best hundred bucks I've spent on the car to date. The difference is incredible! The car doesn't lurch or rock like it did when I launched hard in the past. It just goes. Amazing.

The only problem is at slow speeds, I now hear a little knocking in the back. It's only when I'm decellerating, and it's mostly in the 25 to 0 mph area. At first, I thought it was the duals hitting the axle, but that's a completely different sound.

The only thing that I didn't do according to the instructions was the torque spec. I didn't have a torque wrench, so I just tightened the **** out of them. I've been a mechanic for a long time, so I'm usually pretty good at "guestimating" what a certain torque rating is. I could go back and retorque the bolts, but I don't think that will help.

Any ideas?
Old 8/23/06, 09:31 AM
GT Member

I've got the same thing

The factory torque specs are 129 ft. lbs. So, even w/ a torque wrench or a breaker bar, to get to 129 ft. lbs, you need to tug and tug hard. It sounds like you probably are not off the factory spec. The ones I installed where the fixed-length Steeda Crome Moly LCA's -- Steeda P/N 555-4422. It does not bother me that much. I may @ a later date try Steeda P/N 555-4416 -- the ADJUSTABLE LENGTH LCA's. Perhaps if we dial-in the length we could get the clunking noise abated.
Old 8/23/06, 09:57 AM
Bullitt Member

So you torqued it to spec, and you still get the clunking? If so, do you have any idea what is causing it? They should be the same length as the stock arms...

Is this a common thing?

You're right, 129 ft/lbs is a lot. I basically put my foot on the axle and put as much *** on it as I could. I considered using locktite as well, but it's not really necessary with those bolts.