V6 Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang V6 Performance and Technical Information

HELP! Strut Tower Brace Problems!

Search this Thread

Old 1/5/06, 05:19 PM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Guys, I'm a bit panicky here...I bought a Dallas Mustang Strut Tower Brace off a guy on TMS. It's for the V6. I mounted it & it sits dead on the engine...No space, nothing...Is it supposed to sit flush against the engine or should there be space? Under load, won't the engine shift and rub against the brace??? And being plastic, will the engine heaven-forbid crack? If this is the worst, yeah, I'm out some money...OR is there a way to add "spacers" to get a bit more clearance? How much clearance is needed here? Please put my mind at ease here. I'm a novice & don't want to ruin my baby. :angry: :bang:
Old 1/5/06, 06:31 PM
Bullitt Member

You should be able to put a couple of washers under it where you bolt it to the shock tower. Make sure you check the hood clearance so that you don't ding/bend the hood from the inside.
Old 1/5/06, 06:41 PM
Bullitt Member

sounds strange, i have plenty of clearance on my brace, try the washer idea
Old 1/5/06, 09:54 PM
Team Mustang Source

Criminy,
Now that's three brands in a row with fitment issues in the last few weeks. Ex-Galaxie 500 with his Steeda, Me with my SMR, and now Dallas Mustang. How hard is it to bend steel these days?

I'm probably stuck with store credit only for my defective brace - wishing I could put the bones towards an FRPP brace instead. Haven't heard any issues with those yet.
Old 1/6/06, 02:47 PM

I had the same exact problem, I added two washers to each bolt and it's all gravy baby...
Old 1/6/06, 04:10 PM
Team Mustang Source

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally posted by BuzzyStang05@January 5, 2006, 11:57 PM
Criminy,
Now that's three brands in a row with fitment issues in the last few weeks. Ex-Galaxie 500 with his Steeda, Me with my SMR, and now Dallas Mustang. How hard is it to bend steel these days?