GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Uh oh, knocking noise.

Search this Thread

Old 7/30/11, 02:21 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Uh oh, knocking noise.

Hey gang,

Well, I am not a mechanic, but my Stang has 60k on it now and since I added Long Tubes about 30k ago, there was a bit more noise, most noticeable being a louder ticking noise. car has felt fine and I figured it was just more noise being heard because of the LT flow which most agreed, not to mention the Injectors used with the SC have always been a bit noisy. Now it seems to have gotten a lot louder and can be heard easily from inside the car, increasing in the speed the ticks are the more gas that is applied.

I picked up a mechanics stethoscope to see if I could find anything out of the ordinary and when checking all 8 injectors, 3 of them (1 on the drivers side and 2 on the passenger side) have a distinct knock to them. The knocks can't be heard with the naked ear but they are in synch with the ticking.

Is this normal to hear on some of the injectors with a stethoscope? I am going to check to make sure none of the plugs started to back out as it does sound like an exhaust leak outside the car but the exhaust as been checked a few times with no leaks detected.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Old 7/30/11, 02:33 PM
Post *****

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Maybe an exhaust leak? Have you retightened the headers?

Sticky "lash adjuster" (lifter)? Have you tried an oil additive for lifter noise?

Noise rhythm from both of these increase with rpm's.

I don't know much about injector noise.

Last edited by cdynaco; 7/30/11 at 02:36 PM.
Old 7/30/11, 05:13 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Exhaust seems fine and I was thinking of trying an oil additive but I have to correct myself considering I am a derp, it wasn't the injectors I was listening to but rather the coils on each plug. LOL