GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Spark Plug Replace and install HOW TO

Old 8/13/07, 10:48 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spark Plug Replace and install HOW TO

Ok,
I've been asking around, on several different forums and no one could produce a How To pertaining to the removal and replacement of the spark plugs.

So as I am no expert, I have built an "article" if you will, of how I replaced my sparkplugs. It was fairly easy, (much harder than replacing the plugs on my old Honda) and the total time involved was a couple of hours. I know it can be done much faster, but I took my time, documented everything and checked the condition of my old plugs before progressing.

Here Goes:
Step 1
I cleaned the engine. As I have neglected the underhood appearance of things for a few months, I wanted to remove as much dirt and debris as possible. Beginning by blowing everything off, I was amazed at the amount of loose dirt I was able to remove. Secondly, I gave the engine a good bath. I used a safe degreaser, and followed with a soaking from my Mr. Clean spot free car wash kit. (I didn't forget to cover the intake, alternator, etc...) The next step i used was to break out the yard blower and remove as much loose water as possible. The yard blower has become an intergral part of my car cleaning tool box and I see no reason it can't be used under the hood as well. The cherry on top was to spray everything with Meguier's detailing spray and hand dry everything I could reach.

Step 2
As the temperature reached 105 in the shade today, I worked in my garage. Setting up lighting was a huge help as the spark plugs reside in dark unholy caves within the bowels of our S197's.

Step 3
Now were doing what we set out to do. Removal of the Coil on Plugs ( COPs). In the picture below you'll see the bolt that holds the COP in place. I noticed that they were EASY to remove and I thought it was cool how they floated over the plug sockets.