GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Question about tunes

Search this Thread

Old 5/2/05, 06:52 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have a question about tunes. I am very new to them. I see that some people say they have like the diablo predator tune and then they say they also have another tune such as the SCT Xcalibrator tune. Can you put one tune in and then another on top of it? Wouldn't that just erase the old tune? Is it better to just purchase one and then just do the upgrades as they come out? Like I said, I am new to this and thinking of doing it for the first time with my '05 and any advice would help. Thanks. :scratch:
Old 5/2/05, 07:20 AM
Retired Tms Staff

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I believe you cannot "stack" tunes. You are correct that when you go to flash the computer it overrides the current programming with whatever you have for an update. Therefore is you flash it with the SCT and then with a Diablo, it will only have the Diablo tune. You would have to upload the SCT if you wanted that one back, etc etc etc.
Old 5/2/05, 07:39 AM
Cobra Member

Originally posted by adrenalin@May 2, 2005, 7:23 AM
I believe you cannot "stack" tunes. You are correct that when you go to flash the computer it overrides the current programming with whatever you have for an update. Therefore is you flash it with the SCT and then with a Diablo, it will only have the Diablo tune. You would have to upload the SCT if you wanted that one back, etc etc etc.

How cool would that be if the ECU could store several tunes and you could switch between them via the message center.....one can only dream
Old 5/2/05, 07:52 AM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts
Originally posted by I8URVTEC@May 2, 2005, 8:55 AM