GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Is it possible to install a Pypes OR/H with ramps only?

Search this Thread

Old 6/30/08, 08:37 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is it possible to install a Pypes OR/H with ramps only?

Hey, is it possible to install my ordered pypes or/h with rhino ramps only?

or should I...

1. Purchase a jack and stands = less to spend on mods
2. Go to the auto hobby on base and use one of there lifts? I have no experience with lifts!

Last edited by bored out; 6/30/08 at 08:39 PM.
Old 6/30/08, 08:59 PM

You can do it with just ramps.
Old 6/30/08, 10:04 PM
THE RED FLASH ------ Master-Moderator

Received 2,173 Likes on 1,750 Posts
Sure you can do it with just ramps, but it's much easier if you have the car level on 4 jackstands. It especially helps by keeping your mid-pipe straight and level, when installing into the over the axle pipes. At least it was for me anyhow
Old 7/1/08, 12:00 PM
Bullitt Member

I would get jack stands. You can get some really nice Husky SUV stands at Home Depot for like $30. I found it to be a pain to get the H pipe up into where it needs to go without the rear of the H pipe hitting the floor.

Plus, you'll find much, much use for those stands in the future. Just my .002.
Old 7/1/08, 02:52 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 13 Likes on 6 Posts
I did 2 sets on ramps no problem and 1 of them was lowered.
Old 7/1/08, 08:40 PM
Bullitt Member

I think that i'm going to give it a go with just the ramps. Should I line up the H pipe and clamp it down before I install it to the midpipe? i could line it up against the stock pipe. This might help install and I will have a helper who can be on the other side of the car.

Robbie, your car looks better every time I see it. one of the best grabbers on tms.
Old 7/1/08, 08:48 PM
I lust for a M24

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
See edit below*