GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

pinging....

Search this Thread

Old 5/16/05, 02:55 PM
Cobra Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have been tuning my 05 mustang with a predator tuner for a few months now, trying to get it just right, but since the fuel here is kinda hit and miss as far as quality i will get some chatter up around 4-5000 rpms.

it is only brief, and not very often, but it happens from time to time.

I have rolled timing off a degree at a time to get it so it is very rare, but once in a while it will chatter.

my question is how bad is it hurting the motor when it does this, and do you think it has already caused major damage?

the motor pulls harder than ever as it is now, and i have dialed the timing back two degrees from where it was pinging (not really a knocking sound but more like a fast metallic chattering) and it has not happened since. Do you think it has hurt the motor?
Old 5/16/05, 03:41 PM
Cobra Member

I was going to say you're probably running too much advance for the fuel you've got, but then I got to your last sentence and you already discovered that.

I wouldn't worry about the motor being hurt with the little bit of pinging you describe, and now that you've retarded the timing and stopped it you're in good shape!
Old 5/16/05, 03:45 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally posted by Faber@May 16, 2005, 2:58 PM
I have been tuning my 05 mustang with a predator tuner for a few months now, trying to get it just right, but since the fuel here is kinda hit and miss as far as quality i will get some chatter up around 4-5000 rpms.

it is only brief, and not very often, but it happens from time to time.

I have rolled timing off a degree at a time to get it so it is very rare, but once in a while it will chatter.

my question is how bad is it hurting the motor when it does this, and do you think it has already caused major damage?