GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

New to Xcal2... any tips?

Search this Thread

Old 8/8/06, 11:27 AM

Received 5 Likes on 1 Post
New to Xcal2... any tips?

I'll be getting my SCT Xcal2 from Doug later this week.

I'm a newb to this. Any quick tips to get me plugged in and going?

Also, what program/drivers do I have to download from SCT in order to download any e-mail tunes and transfer them to the Xcal2? There's several on that page and it looks a bit confusing. What other benefits are there linking the unit to the PC?
Old 8/8/06, 04:24 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just one lame tip to suply. When programming the car, it is never necessary to take out the fuses. It states in the intstructions to do this but there is no point. Hope this helps. You just bought an exelent product from an exelent guy.
Old 8/8/06, 06:29 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Bill, one thing I had trouble with was getting the Xtreme Tune drivers to work right on my laptop. After three failed attempts, I decided to try it on my desktop computer. Voila... worked first time. I never did figure out why it didn't work on the laptop... and I even had Doug providing guidance along the way. Must have been something funky with my laptop.

Also, occasionally when I have the handheld connected to the computer and I'm trying to upload a file, it says the X2 is not connected (even though it is). I just re-start the upload when it does that and it works OK.
Old 8/8/06, 08:13 PM

Don- So can tune files be uploaded from the handheld into your PC and vice versa?

I'm just unsure which program/driver I need to install in my desktop PC so when Doug sends me a file (via e-mail), I can download it into the handheld.

And as far as plugging the handheld into the car for the first time, you just select 1 of the 3 files (ie. 91 Torque) and it automatically downloads the stock tune before uploading the new one?