GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

installation of JBA shorty headers

Search this Thread

Old 1/2/11, 03:08 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
installation of JBA shorty headers

I was wondering how hard is it to do this install myself. I was looking through the following thread on a BBK shorty install and it doesnt sound and look too bad:

http://www.mustangmonthly.com/techar...ers/index.html

I am have heard that installing headers can be a PITA for DIY's. I am not an expert weekend mechanic by any means.....though I have started to learn to do some work on my own car. From doing some research and looking over the infamous TacoBill's write-ups, I have been able to do the following mods on my car in the last year:

1. Exhaust: Flowmaster axlebacks and Pypes offroad H pipe
2. Hurst Shifter
3. FRPP lowering springs
4. Steeda UDP
5. Stack Racing front grille
6. Spoiler store GT500 rear spoiler
7. Swapped out my valve covers to have them powder coated
8. Rotorpros crossed drilled/slotted rotors

So I am wondering am I in over my head here with the shorty headers?? I would imagine this would be the most challenging job to date for me.

Has anyone else with modest mechanical skills like me done this install on their own? Does anyone know of any good DIY write-ups anywhere?
Old 1/2/11, 03:48 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I did the BBK ones one my own and am what you would call an experience weekend mechanic I think. Plan for the weekend and band aids for your knuckles. Also a gear wrench is a must!
Old 1/2/11, 04:00 PM
Mach 1 Member

Originally Posted by Whosit
I did the BBK ones one my own and am what you would call an experience weekend mechanic I think. Plan for the weekend and band aids for your knuckles. Also a gear wrench is a must!