GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

How heavy do s197 clutches feel?

Search this Thread

Old 10/2/08, 01:57 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How heavy do s197 clutches feel?

Ok, so I've had the manual transmission in my mustang for a few months now, and I'm still loving every minute of it! Many times more fun to drive than the automatic that was previously in the car! I have no real experience with other manual transmissions, accept for the one I have in mine, with a Spec stage 2+ clutch and MGW shifter with 4.10's and a spydershaft. This is the combo I learned on, to drive a stick. (the 4.10's with 10psi Whipple has been a fun learning experience!)

Today I drove a friend's Infinity G35 with a 6 speed manual. The first thing that I noticed was that his clutch is soooo light, it almost feels like there's nothing attached to the other end of it! It just falls to the floor with a thud as soon as I put any pressure on it. And as soon as I try to let off pressure and slowly let it out, it just springs all the way up before I realize it! (which promptly kills the motor, hah!) And same thing with his shifter, it just falls into the gears like there's nothing attached to the other end. I didn't like the feel of it at all (granted, I only drove it for a few minutes, and my mustang is the only manual transmission I've driven in the past 10 years).

Now, I imagine I don't like the way his car feels because I'm just not used to it. And after he drove my mustang, he said the complete opposite about mine, he didn't like it because my clutch felt like it weighed a ton, and my shifter felt like it had to be muscled into each gear. Both clutches seem to engage at about the same point (close to the top), his is just a whole lot easier to push in, and then springs back up very suddenly compared to mine.