GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Forged Parts /engine block?

Search this Thread

Old 3/3/06, 10:27 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I see some people add forged internals to their engine block if they are throwing on a supercharger for added durability. But since our engine block is aluminum and most engines that have forged internals from the factory have cast iron blocks...do you guys think they actually block itself won't fair as well?
Old 3/3/06, 10:45 AM
Mach 1 Member

I'm consulting my 'bible' - Sean Hylands's book on the 4.6 Liter Engine...now this is in regards to the previous generations aluminum block, but he states:

"...the later block certainly should be adequate for moderate power levels of up to 600 HP"."

So far, all of the damaged blocks, I've seen from supercharging came from the impact of the non-forged pistons and/or rods breaking up...but I'm no expert on the matter.
Old 3/3/06, 10:51 AM
Mach 1 Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(racerx @ March 3, 2006, 12:48 PM) Quoted post</div><div class='quotemain'>
I'm consulting my 'bible' - Sean Hylands's book on the 4.6 Liter Engine...now this is in regards to the previous generations aluminum block, but he states:

"...the later block certainly should be adequate for moderate power levels of up to 600 HP"."

So far, all of the damaged blocks, I've seen from supercharging came from the impact of the non-forged pistons and/or rods breaking up...but I'm no expert on the matter.
[/b][/quote]

That's a little more comforting in that case. Maybe I'll drop a line to Sean and see if theycan elaborate. Then I can't see any1 buying a iron block unless they were thinking about turning they stang into a funy car...
Old 3/3/06, 01:25 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post