GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Cutouts, headers and backpressure- what's the scoop?

Search this Thread

Old 12/17/07, 12:31 AM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cutouts, headers and backpressure- what's the scoop?

All-
So I'm no engineer, but I'm curious to find out the answer:
If one were to run a 4.6 3V mod motor with long tubes and electric exhaust cutouts, would there be an issue with backpressure loss? Would a supercharger complicate issues (as it needs pressure to build power)? I know a TON of backpressure isn't good, but I also know that too little can cause power loss.
Thanks in advance-
Jim
Old 12/17/07, 01:23 AM
Cobra Member

open headers, or cutouts will not hurt your power. superchargers need pressure to build power but they build this pressure in the manifold. A cam with a great deal of overlap (both intake and exhaust valves being open simultaneously for a short time) will hurt boost by allowing the boost to blow through. But long tubes and reducing restriction in the exhaust will only help make more power. I have heard of backpressure helping low end torque, but in a racing application you are not looking for torque at 1500 rpm since you will usually be launching at higher rpms than that and staying in the powerband. Think of the motor like a big air pump. the more air you pump, the more power you make (as long as you can mix that air with the right amount of fuel, and make it blow up real good). reducing restriction in the intake, and exhaust path are the most basic ways of finding hidden power in your motor.
Old 12/17/07, 05:33 PM
Bullitt Member

I agree with Faber to a point: If you are racing and at high rpms the backpressure probably isn't needed, but simply eliminating it [say you go with open headers], you will definitely lose low end torque. For myself, my car is a daily driver so the low end is really needed for my style of driving.

Just my opinion.
Mike E
Old 12/17/07, 05:34 PM