GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Can custom tunes wear my engine down more?

Search this Thread

Old 2/6/12, 02:44 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can custom tunes wear my engine down more?

So I got into an argument with my friend about whether customs tunes can wear down an engine quicker and basically lead to a shorter life cycle. Currently all I'm running is stock with a bama performance tune. Personally I don't think these tunes will have much affect on the life on my engine. He was convinced that leaving it on performance tune(vs street tune) can be harmful in the long run. Considering they only add 15-17 hp and are just adjusting fuel/air rations and timing, I don't foresee harm being done to my engine. But I'm not an expert so I figured I'd get some of your guys opinions.
Old 2/6/12, 02:51 PM
Bear Eats King...
Bear ****s Bone

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
It can have an effect depending on how you drive it. Tunes also adjust knock retard, timing, and fuel trims for different operating temps. I would say a stock engine will out live a tuned engine. Hence why tuning an engine voids the warranty.
Old 2/6/12, 02:52 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Nice question I'd like to know too... However I'd like matt from steeda to answer ... There are guys on here who think these cars can only run 13.7 stock lol what do they know ;-)
Old 2/6/12, 02:59 PM
Bear Eats King...
Bear ****s Bone

Originally Posted by silversky545
Nice question I'd like to know too... However I'd like matt from steeda to answer ... There are guys on here who think these cars can only run 13.7 stock lol what do they know ;-)
Just ask me and ill tell you what I know
Old 2/6/12, 03:04 PM
Banned