GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Another TBS question

Search this Thread

Old 12/12/05, 02:09 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
After installing the TBS last week, the butt-dyno definitely registers better throttle response, and the computer is telling me I'm getting two or three more MPG. But I'll be durned if I understand the physics behind this little piece of machined aluminum.

Can someone please explain to me just how it makes such an improvement in response and mileage?? And use small words where ya can.....
Old 12/12/05, 02:17 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
It is made out of forged anodized magic pixie dust!!

Old 12/12/05, 02:17 PM
9 is not my lucky number.

I'm an engineer here, so I'll keep it simple.

Fluids, either liquid or gas, flow better through a orifice (the TB opening and valve heads) or a conduit (the intake and intake manifold) if the fluid is swirling around. The grooves on the TB spacer, swirl the air around. Effectively getting air to the cylinders with a lot less resistance and more efficiently. This gives you better throttle response and more MPG.

I took fluids classes in college.
Old 12/12/05, 03:01 PM
JLH

I can't tell you how it works for you as far as gas mileage improvement is concerned, it showed no improvement for me.

I put the TBS on my car after I did a 25 mile loop and checked the mileage before the install. I then installed the TBS and did the same 25 mile loop at the same speed etc. I live in a rural area so traffic is not an issue. The mileage was the same within .1 mpg. (TPS installed mileage was less).

After the mileage test I drove around and did not notice any throttle responce difference.

I then removed the TBS and did the mileage loop again and got the same mileage as I did on the first loop.

It may be that my CAI (WMS 90mm w/ram air tray) already is efficient enough that there is no improvement to be gained by the venturi effect of the spacer.