20 questions (New intake and tunes)

Search this Thread

Old 1/22/07, 05:45 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
20 questions (New intake and tunes)

Hey guys,
Newbie here so take it lite...

I just purchased an used xcal2 and c&L intake for my 06 gt and have a couple of questions.

One,
Could I use the existing tune's on my 06 as long as he only modded it for an intake? The guy had it tuned from evolution performance for his 05 gt with 89 and 91 octane tunes.

Two,
if he had an auto (transmission) and I have a stick, will that make a difference.

Three,
I have pretty much spent all my money on getting this and an exhaust (thanks Harley Bill) Could I get away with just one tune from Bamchips?

Four,
If I get just one, I want the fastest accelerating tune which one?

Five
Is that one best for everyday driving

Six,
Does this come with any factory tunes (I believe they are called canned tunes, but don't want to confused anyone as I may be confused)

Seven,
I really like what I have read abot Doug's tunes. Will I get better results locally? I live in Baton Rouge and have read Stang-hi does good work somewhere.

Eight,
Will I really get THAT much better of a tune if I visit Doug. He's like 8 hours away and I know the service will be awesome. but will I get that much better performance?

TIA,

Sorry for such a long post. I know computers not cars
Old 1/22/07, 06:28 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 29 Likes on 22 Posts
Originally Posted by gremlin190
Hey guys,

I just purchased an used xcal2 and c&L intake for my 06 gt and have a couple of questions.

One,
Could I use the existing tune's on my 06 as long as he only modded it for an intake? The guy had it tuned from evolution performance for his 05 gt with 89 and 91 octane tunes. Don't use someone else's tunes- they may not match your calibration code. Besides that, hopefully the tuner was returned to stock before you received it.

Two,