Mustang Motorsports All forms of racing and motorsports activity allowed!

trackday at road america - tape terminals?

Search this Thread

Old 4/29/13, 07:59 PM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
trackday at road america - tape terminals?

hello all, i signed up for midwest fbody association's track day at road america. their rules state that battery terminals must be taped. what is that, just wrapping them them in electrical tape even if you have the factory covers? it's my first track day. thanks,
Old 4/29/13, 08:22 PM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 111 Likes on 101 Posts
I haven't heard of that in the past, I'd bring electrical tape with you just incase. Typically as long as the battery is secured down and the terminals have secure attachments, you're fine. I've run a small DEKA lightweight battery that did not have caps in my previous car at several events with no issues.

Let me know if you have any other 'first track day' questions. I've been doing them for a couple years and am happy to pass along anything I've learned.

Jealous you get to run at Road America!
Old 4/30/13, 06:29 AM
GT Member

Thanks. I hope it doesn't rain. Ive been on the track before, once back in early 90's with a crx si and it was a blast! Then a few years ago but there were so many cars it just wasn't as fun. Im really looking forward to this.

Its my understanding there's at least two if these events in Wisconsin.
Old 5/1/13, 04:44 PM
Shelby GT350 Member

Rain can be a lot of fun... I've done a couple days where it has rained, although I was in a AWD car. That is the best, it absolutely screams around the track in the rain

Just learn the 'rain line' if it does get wet and watch the corner exits.

Hope you enjoy - post some pictures and videos if you capture any!

Did you put in track pads? Can get brake fade with OEM pads pretty quickly if you drive hard... that's the very first thing I'll have for my car before I get her out for a road course
Old 5/1/13, 07:57 PM
GT Member