Introductions Please For Your First Post Tell Us Your Mustang Story, Details about Your Car and Some Pics Would be Great! Thank You!

Potential 66

Search this Thread

Old 3/14/16, 06:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello all, new to this forum but not others. I'm 23 years old, ive been working as a plumbers helper for the past 6 years while going to school at night. I'm happy to say I'll be graduating in May with an associates degree in applied sciences and a technical degree in instrumentation. I'm going to try to get on at one of the many chemical or petroleum plants down here in southeast Louisiana. I have a guy I know that just messaged me saying he's not gonna have to money to restore his 66 coupe and wanted to know if I'm interested. So obviously I told him yes but I wouldn't have a place to store it for a few months. I will try to upload a picture of it. he said he would like to get around $1500 for it but I told him we would talk once I checked it out. he said it has a clean title and the rust he found is on the center console area of the hump thing and the battery area under the hood. it has the Code C 289 cubic inch V8 with 2 bbl carb, 3 speed "cruise-o-matic" automatic transmission. I understand it will be a lot of headache to get restored but I've always wanted a 66 mustang and a coupe is a plus! I have a jeep tj so if any of you have jeeps you know if you can put up with a jeep you can put up with just about anything! lol that's a little bit about me an the potential car I might be buying.

I have two main questions
1) if the frame and rest of the body are in good shape with no rust is $1500 a good price? I would probably give him $1000 cash

2) restoration cost

im looking at the picture below and the little info I have on it what would be a really rough estimate of a well done resorption if everything went ok. for you other 66 coupe guys how much has your restoration costed you so far?

just trying to see what I'm getting myself into.