Introductions Please For Your First Post Tell Us Your Mustang Story, Details about Your Car and Some Pics Would be Great! Thank You!

Learner starting out here...

Search this Thread

Old 4/16/16, 07:29 PM
V6 Member

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Learner starting out here...

I am in school, currently taking Collision technology. I have recently gotten an '87 LX hatchback 4 cylinder 5 speed. Mechanically she is fine. Both the exterior and interior needs work and so I am looking for ways to fix her up. Because I'm still a student, I don't have much money to play around with, so I'm also looking for less expensive yet efficient ways that will work.
Old 4/16/16, 10:08 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 669 Likes on 542 Posts
Only way to learn is to do.

Only way to be less expensive is do it yourself competently.

If I could do it without anyone helping me on my '66 Mustang, you can! I had to rebuild the passenger side scoop which was punched it. When I was done, you'd never know it was even hit. I also shaved off all the emblems, and hand vinyled the entire interior instead of painting the dash, door panels, etc, like was done back then.

And I'd done just about none of it before, and that car went on to win first places in shows I didn't even think I had a chance in... and didn't even build her for, because I just built her for me, not them.

Back then, I could only ask and then practice, then implement and see how I did. Today, there's webpages, videos, and these here forums.

Don't be skeert. Even in a bad job, you learn, and can do it again.

So gather tools, a work area, and get to rippin' the car up and puttin' it back together again. You'll be a pro in no time. Get a shop manual for the thing, though, that'll be big help.

And above all, *have fun with it!*

Last edited by houtex; 4/16/16 at 10:09 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Emma (4/17/16)
Old 4/17/16, 04:51 AM
V6 Member

Any ideas or suggestions on tools to start out with?
Old 4/17/16, 12:00 PM