Off-Topic Chatter Non-Vehicle Related Chat

What jobs have you had?

Search this Thread

Old 6/2/12, 08:41 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
What jobs have you had?

We have all worked hard to to get where we are, or where we have been if one is retired.

What jobs have you held? I'll start.

At 12, I had a paper route and had a list of clients in the neighborhood for snow shoveling in the winter.

I worked in a ice cream and sandwich shop when I was 16, started bussing the counters, waiting on customers and working the grill on occasion. I also played guitar in a " garage band" and made some money playing at dances.

In high school, I got into the Distributive Education program, and as part of the program worked at a clothing store ( half day of school, the rest of the day was working, along with a night a week and Saturdays) I graduated from high school in 1971.

I then went to college for a year for marketing, dropped out when I found out I didn't like it. I still played in a band, switching to bass guitar when our bassist quit becuase he joined a cult that thought rock music was the work of the devil (ironically, we rehearsed in a Methodist Church hall, our keyboardist's dad was the minister).

I then went to work at a factory that made paper tubes of all sizes and still played in the band.

In 1975, I went back to college for ipublic communications. I was in still in a band, and worked part time for a small pet store chain and summers for a pest control company.

I graduated with an associates degree in public communication in 1977 and worked full time for the pest control company and part time for a cable TV local access station.

In 1980, I left the pest control company and cable TV station and worked briefly for a radio station. Things didnt work out quite as planned... the pest control company hired me back.