Off-Topic Chatter Non-Vehicle Related Chat

The *OFFICIAL* HDR Photos Thread....... post photos here!

Search this Thread

Old 7/29/12, 09:12 PM
I Have No Life

Received 172 Likes on 145 Posts
The *OFFICIAL* HDR Photos Thread....... post photos here!

Ok, since I have been getting quite a few questions and inquiries about HDR photography...I figured, why not make a dedicated HDR photo thread so we can all talk about HDR photography and learn from each other?

To put it simply, HDR = High Dynamic Range. It's a process by which you blend multiple exposures of the same shot into one "super" shot You get the best contrast, the best highlights, and the best shadows, all in one. Some folks don't care for it, but as you all already know, I am a huge fan. I am still learning some tips and tricks, but I can share a few. For those of you more seasoned than I am, please share your tricks as well.

To get HDR, simply take your camera, place it on a tripod, and take 3 to 5 shots of a subject, and trying to keep as still as possible. The exposures should have at least one in the ( - ) range, one at 0 EV, and one in the ( + ) range. Use a remote trigger if you have one.

* The tip I learned on my own recently, is to not use the the Exposure variant mode since it varies f stop... it makes the shots less clear, imo. I just vary shutter speed, so I keep the same f stop (f stop values vary).

Make sure you avoid movement in the background....as this will cause blur during rendering. Things like trees, clouds, etc...they move every so slightly, but will be magnified in your rendering.

Once home on your PC or Mac, use a good HDR program and blend your shots! Tadaa! I use HDRTist on my Mac, but a lot of folks use Lightroom and others.

Anyways, I am sure you will have lots of questions, but here are a few shots I took today. Comments and questions welcome. Please post all your HDR shots here too. Doesn't have to be car related.

Name:  esco1.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  74.7 KB