Off-Topic Chatter Non-Vehicle Related Chat

Help on Colorado road trip

Search this Thread

Old 6/11/14, 10:12 AM
Shelby GT500 Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Help on Colorado road trip

I and my wife are planing to do a road trip from Houston, tx to Colorado. we have 4 days in hand ( July 3 - 6). we would love to do winding roads and mountain scenic routes. if people can help me put some route. I plan to start from houston and drive to Amarillo,tx and stay over night on July 2nd. then i will be heading to colorado springs on July 3rd morning. after that i have not planned.

Appreciate if you all could give me a hand in this.
Old 6/11/14, 01:49 PM
V6 Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Being an ex OTR driver, I've done that run before, I'd say there's not much in the way of mountainous roads but there are some stretches that beg for high speed with long straights and sweepers that can take it. It's really flat and kind of boring scenery wise. From Amarillo go north on US 287 to Lamar, Co then west on US 50 to Pueblo then North on I-25 to Colorado Springs. There are many route variations, but this was one I preferred.

Last edited by rocket7888; 6/12/14 at 09:18 AM.
Old 6/12/14, 01:46 PM
Shelby GT500 Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
thanks for the direction. are there many cops in those highways. in our parts u will see every 10 miles one hiding in the woods. also after colorado springs is there good camping place you suggest.
Old 6/12/14, 03:58 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 144 Likes on 109 Posts
Hey Cinizter, found this link on scenic Colorado roads for Motorcycles. Most of the bikers that I know, know all of the best twisty roads. I'll contact my brother in law. He lives out there, see if he can recommend any.
Old 6/12/14, 06:50 PM
Cobra Member

Received 44 Likes on 30 Posts
Google the San Juan Skyway. It's a 233 mile loop in the southwest corner of CO.
Old 6/12/14, 07:47 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts