General Vehicle Discussion/News Non-Mustang Vehicle Chat, Other Makes

Upgrading brakes on my Daily Driver (Acura TSX)

Search this Thread

Old 10/5/15, 01:25 PM
I Have No Life

Received 172 Likes on 145 Posts
Upgrading brakes on my Daily Driver (Acura TSX)

I'm saving this thread for a writeup and pics. I've never done brakes from scratch before, so this will be a learning experience for me. I've done blower installs, and other engine mods, but no brake work. Go figure. How embarrassing.

Anyways, the details - I have a 2012 Acura TSX, Tori, as most of you know. She has 19k miles on her now. I've been getting a pulsing upon braking lately, and my trust buddy/shop and I determined that I have a warped front rotor set, most like due to pad deposits, etc. I could have

a) got them resurfaced - problem may return later, cost also taken into account for labor
b) got OEM replacements - why? Acura/Honda known to have crappy OEM setups. They do it on purpose to save cost... so I pay OEM pricing to get another $hitty product? No thanks.
c) get an upgrade, aftermarket...looks better, performs better, and will last longer.

So obviously I went with c).

Here's what I got.

I researched a lot of good stuff about Stoptech. I chose the slotted rotors to improve look, without appearing ricey (I hope not, at least).

It arrives next week, and I'll have a buddy help me out. I have all the tools. He has some special caliper tool that he'll bring and blocks of wood. Otherwise, I have the rest.... jackstands, impact stuff, etc....

So wish me luck!!! I'll keep this thread updated with progress/pics.
Old 10/5/15, 01:56 PM
Cobra R Member

Received 41 Likes on 38 Posts
Did you get pads as well? I like the carbotech street pads.

I also have the stoptech slotted. They do look nice. I also like that the carbotech pads are red, which look great with my black rotors.
Old 10/5/15, 01:58 PM
Cobra R Member