General Vehicle Discussion/News Non-Mustang Vehicle Chat, Other Makes

How to best avoid stalling/drifting from a dead spot while on a steep hill ?

Search this Thread

Old 7/9/08, 09:19 PM
THE RED FLASH ------ Master-Moderator

Received 2,110 Likes on 1,695 Posts
How to best avoid stalling/drifting from a dead spot while on a steep hill ?

Although I've been driving manual's for many years, I still have problems whenever I'm at a dead spot on steep hills.

So my question is this: What is the best solution to prevent from drifting back, and stalling the vehicle while starting out from a dead spot, on a steep hill ? Anyway, thanks for all your help in advance guys.

Last edited by m05fastbackGT; 7/9/08 at 09:21 PM.
Old 7/9/08, 10:01 PM
Number Cruncher

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Parking brake.
Has worked great for me with every manual transmission car I've owned.
Of course I also try to avoid steep hills.
Old 7/9/08, 10:02 PM
bob
Legacy TMS Member

Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts
I hold my foot on the brake, then engage the clutch until the engine bogs a bit then off the brake while letting the clutch slip until I can move forward.
Old 7/9/08, 10:02 PM
V6 Member

Push in button and pull up hand brake.
release foot brake.
release clutch and apply gas as normal.
when you can feel the car pull against the ebrake let it down smoothly.
that is the boat ramp technique i use even in a A/T
Old 7/10/08, 04:41 AM
Bullitt Member

Rev to 2500rpm with your heel while maintaining your toes on the brake, then dump clutch and floor the loud pedal.....

I actually am fairly new to manual, however with this car I have no issues with rolling back. I simply start to let of the clutch a bit then jump off the brake and on the accelerator. Smooth start every time.