2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

Paint Flaw - Don't Mess With it?

Search this Thread

Old 8/9/05, 01:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My new GT convertible has a flaw in the paint. The body shop says it looks like maybe some type of solvent dripped on the paint and ran.

I am no paint expert, but the shop manager says they will be able to sand it out without needing to repaint. The only side effect is I may have a visibly smooth area compared to Ford's wonderful orange peel paint job.

Half the people I show it to say "If it were my car, I wouldn't mess with it."

It is just behind the passenger door about 3.5 inches straight up and down and only about a half inch wide. You need to be looking for it to find it.

THE QUESTION -- Do you have them mess with the factory paint job to get a hard to see imperfection fixed.... if it means the FIX may be as visible as the FLAW?
:scratch:

What Say Yee?

EZ
Old 8/9/05, 01:07 PM
TMS West Coast Correspondent

Originally posted by EZDUZIT@August 9, 2005, 1:08 PM
My new GT convertible has a flaw in the paint. The body shop says it looks like maybe some type of solvent dripped on the paint and ran.

I am no paint expert, but the shop manager says they will be able to sand it out without needing to repaint. The only side effect is I may have a visibly smooth area compared to Ford's wonderful orange peel paint job.

Half the people I show it to say "If it were my car, I wouldn't mess with it."

It is just behind the passenger door about 3.5 inches straight up and down and only about a half inch wide. You need to be looking for it to find it.

THE QUESTION -- Do you have them mess with the factory paint job to get a hard to see imperfection fixed.... if it means the FIX may be as visible as the FLAW?
:scratch:

What Say Yee?

EZ
if the fix is visible then its not a fix now is it?
Old 8/9/05, 01:10 PM
TMS West Coast Correspondent