2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

Autocrossing in 2 weeks.. first time racing, noob driver. advice?

Search this Thread

Old 10/23/07 | 07:25 AM

Autocrossing in 2 weeks.. first time racing, noob driver. advice?

Hey everyone,

I'm going to go autocrossing in 2 weeks and I was wondering if you guys had any advice for me:
1) What tire pressures should I set my stock 17" Perillis to?
2) Any advice on good launching for autocrossing? I've watched one autocross and I think there's a very short "get up to speed" distance before you run through the lasers and the clock starts. Don't spin the tires? Spin the tires? Launch how hard?
3) How should I handle turns? Heel-toe + rev match, but what else? All my friend's are FWD import racers so no help there.. what's the best way to tackle tight turns going 20-40mph? Is "drifting" involved? I apologize if that's a dumb question - this is my first time.
4) Anything I should do to protect my paint job from rocks that get kicked up? Or will that generally not be a problem since I'm the only car on the road?

Car stats: CAI+tune, 3.55 stock gears, manual tranny, stock 17" rims/tires. Will be in "STS" class.

Thanks!
Old 10/23/07 | 07:45 AM
Mach 1 Member

Hello,

My experience autocrossing suggests the following:
1. 46 front, 42 rear.
2. Turn off traction control, no spin needed, just a decent launch, I bring the rpms up to 2k and slip the clutch. Also once in 2nd gear, leave it there as a general rule. Let the torque of the engine pull it out of the turn. Only around a pivot cone, do I downshift, and sometimes I still leave it in 2nd gear. So shifting is really not an issue.
3. I would not worry about rev matching. I would be more concerned about following a good line and not overdriving the car. Brake earlier and turn in sooner than you think you can. Look far ahead to the next cones, not the ones right in front of you. Drifting costs you time.