1994-2004 V-8 GT, GTS, Bullitt, Mach 1, and Cobra

Side exhaust exits

Search this Thread

Old 3/18/05, 03:25 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I was going to buy the Roush Side Skirts with the side exhaust exits but when i took my mustang down to the local muffler shop he said he wouldnt do it. His reason was that the clearence was bad and it would be constantly knocked off out of place. I told him well how do all the other Roush's get away with it. Not sure if this is true. I already have a flowmaster system I would think they would have to cut the pipes and move the mufflers back and then run the pipes out of the sides but im no expert. Anyone else have a simular problem?
Old 3/18/05, 08:37 PM
GTR Member

He means (i think) that you will constantly be bottoming out on the pipes and flattening them. I wouldn't do it, get a good Full Bassani system instead. 00 R owners had exhaust problems too, with flattening the pipes.
Old 3/18/05, 10:22 PM
Bullitt Member

yeah, am going to have to look into a different side skirt kit. I wish Roush made the 99-04 side without exit cuts in them.
Old 3/19/05, 03:04 PM

I have steeda side pipes on my 02 GT right now and have had them on there for almost 2 years... I have hit them before, but its very rare. The only times I ever do hit them is going over tall speed bumps or steep driveways. Even then it can be avoided by going over both on a bit of angle. Its not as bad as it seems though.
Old 3/19/05, 09:02 PM
Bullitt Member

Yeah im getting mixed opinions about the side exhaust. If I have a muffler shop re-fab my current setup would I have to buy hardware to mount the side exhaust or would the shop probably have the brackets?
Old 3/19/05, 09:32 PM
GTR Member

the 00 R had a h pipe that had the mufflers in the stock location and the pipes came out of the mufflers and forward a llittle bit, then out the side. You would porlly have to fabricate some side mount bracket for your car if u re-fab it.
Old 3/19/05, 10:16 PM