Notices
Fox Mustangs 1979-1993 Mustangs Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

'90 lx interceptor?

Search this Thread

Old 8/15/05, 11:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hey all,
My friend has a 90 lx mustang which he claims is a police interceptor. I'd like to find out if it is truly an interceptor or a clone. I have it in my driveway for a few days and I'll take pictures of whatever I need to show you guys in order to get a verdict. He claims it was a limited model that was sent to canada for mods. Anyway, please let me know what specific things to take pics of because I am not an expert on this car as many of you are. Thanks!
Old 8/16/05, 07:32 AM
Service Manager

Received 430 Likes on 208 Posts
First go to www.sspmustang.org....lots of good info there. Second, find the buck tag on the radiator core support...THAT will have the information to prove it as an SSP Mustang. The car should have one single key to fit every lock in the car(A square ignition key). There should be an oil cooler on it and ground straps everywhere(ie: mufflers to body, hood hinges, rear bumper and a few other places....under the carpet under the back of the driver seat it should have a brace that comes from the floor and attaches to the side of the inner rocker panel...The speedometer should read "CERTIFIED CALIBRATION" but that is one that is easily swapped out. Also look at the door data sticker....some police cars were ordered as fleet units and painted 2 tone from the factory...this would show up as having 2 paint codes on the data sticker.
Old 8/16/05, 09:50 AM

Thanks for the help Paul! With your help and info, I believe I found what I'm looking for. Below are some pics I took. I found the bucktag located behind the driver's headlight. Anything else interesting you see in the pics? My buddy picked it up for a cool $2400 and it drives GREAT.[attachmentid=30753]
Old 8/16/05, 09:56 AM

sorry, had to resize images for post to accept it.
[attachmentid=30755]
Old 8/16/05, 09:58 AM