1964-1970 Mustang Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

Insurance Question

Search this Thread

Old 7/29/06, 01:09 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Insurance Question

I didn't know exactly where to post this, but I think this might be right. Basically I'm just curious about what type of auto insurance you guys have for your classics. I already know of the major companies such as Hagerty and Grundy and the others, and the basic insurance companies like Nationwide and Geico, but I'm not positive as to which is best for my situation.

My dad and I have been restoring my 67 Mustang for the past two years and it's just about ready to hit the road, but before that we need to have it insured. But the catch is this, I plan to use it as my daily driver and most classic car insurance companies will not take it if it is a daily driver.

So, what it comes down to is: What type of insurace do you have for your classics, and how good is the coverage? What type of restrictions do the policies include? And any other help you may want to include.
Old 7/29/06, 09:52 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I have MetLife for my 69 Coupe. It has a limitation of 2,500 miles a year, full coverage at maximum rate w/ $0 deductible where the car is covered for an agreed amount. It costs me $86.50 per year.

When I first was getting insurance for it in 1989 as a daily driver I had a hard time getting anyone to insure it. They kept saying it was "too nice" and a "show car" which was total BS since it was unrestored except for a new paint job and rims. I eventually got it covered for like $600 / year if I remember right.
Old 7/29/06, 09:56 PM

Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts
2,500 miles a year!!!! I need to sign up for that!!...I dont think I drive mine that much...for 90 bucks all year....what a deal!
Old 7/29/06, 10:43 PM
Bullitt Member