1964-1970 Mustang Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

66' Gift

Search this Thread

Old 7/8/04, 08:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm 22 years old and I am a novice in the shop. I got engaged and my future father-in-law likes me so much that he gave me his 66' Coupe. It's got the 302 in it and it's pretty nice, but it's really slow out of the blocks. It's got the 4 speed automatic transmission and I don't like that at all but I guess beggars can't be choosers. He wants me to keep it nice and calm for my fiance to putt around in but I have other things in mind. What do you guys suggest as far as transmissions go? Can I put a manual in it? Or should I swap some smaller gears?

My first installations are going to be headers and a 4 barrel carb. Any other suggestions to start off with?

Thanks a lot for reading. I'm really excited about this thing.
Old 7/8/04, 09:04 PM
Cobra Member

If its a stock trans, its a 3-speed.

You can put a manual in it. You can put racier gears in it. You can do both.....you need to decide what you want to do. If you want to row your own, put in a manual. Leave the auto in and change the rear gears if you dont care about the slushbox.

I would look at rear gears first. Your stock ones are prob 2.80s, for an auto you might want ~3.25, for a T-5 manual trans a 3.50 - 3.80. There are tons of things you can do, but post more about what you want to do with the car, how much $$ you will throw at it, and, most importantly, what your fiancee and future FIL will let you get away with!

Gave you a 66 coupe, eh? Does your fiancee have any sisters?

Welcome to the board!
________
SoldierOfSex live

Last edited by LMan; 8/20/11 at 07:41 AM.
Old 7/9/04, 12:44 AM
V6 Member

Originally posted by LMan@July 8, 2004, 9:07 PM
If its a stock trans, its a 3-speed.