2015 - 2023 MUSTANG Discuss everything 2015-2023 S550 Mustang

will Ford drop the MT82? please!

Search this Thread

Old 3/19/13, 04:45 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Flagstang

when I sold my 2012 GT it had 12,800 no issue miles on the MT82. I still say pilot error.
Maybe if it was just a couple of people complaining I would agree, but there a re numerous people that does not like the stock shifter for most of the same reason, the fact that it does not easily go into gear and that it's often hard to find the gears.

Maybe a little pilot error, but in this case a lot of ford fail too
Old 3/19/13, 07:12 AM
Mach 1 Member

Originally Posted by db2797
I've been driving manuals for 22 years. I'm 36 and started on a 5 speed in a field truck when I was 14. I've never had any issues until this transmission. So unless I all of a sudden forgot how to drive manuals, I'd say there's something not quite right with this trannie.

You probably wont' see too many issues with the trannie if you granny shift all the time. But for mine, it's like clockwork. I know exactly when it will act up:

First time driving the car when it's cold....first shift into 3rd....grrriiiindd. Every single time. That first cold shift does it every time into 3rd. Second shift into third....little grriind. After that when its warm. It won't grind.

Next...I won't see any issues until I drive the car hard. Once the RPM's get above 6,000 when shifting into third...I have to engage the clutch and give it about 3 seconds with the clutch in before it will allow me to shift into third. Otherwise, if I try to shift without that delay...gate looooccckkkkkked. This behavior is clockwork for my car.
It's interesting that the GT owners have notching from 2nd to 3rd and v6 owners have notching from 1st to 2nd. My 2nd to 3rd shifts are just fine
Old 3/19/13, 10:32 AM
MOTM Committee Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts