Notices
'10-14 Interior and Audio Place to discuss 2010-2014 interior and audio type modifications.

Audio options for new car?

Search this Thread

Old 7/29/12, 12:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Audio options for new car?

I just bought my first Mustang. I'm part of an all-Ford, mostly Mustang family. As a college student, I couldn't afford much more than the base model 2013 V6. The audio system is the standard offering. I previously had a fully loaded Focus with Sirius and SYNC, hence the reason I feel like my Mustang's audio system is lacking.

Basically, I have two questions:
1.) Can I have the dealer install SYNC on it? My research on the 2012 model year points to 'no', but I want to confirm it is the same with the 2013.

2.) I have the button for Sirius, so what would it take to get Sirius XM working? Is the wiring already there and would I just need to run the wire to an antenna?

Many thanks for your help. I hope that at some point soon, SYNC and Sirius will be standard. I do more than an average amount of driving for work, so I liked those features. If I can't get SYNC or Sirius, I'll just use the line-in for my iPhone...(I also wish that port was outside the console...kind of inconvenient).

Last edited by DVSdan; 7/29/12 at 12:06 AM.
Old 7/30/12, 09:05 PM
GT Member

Adding the Sync is pretty much impossible aftermarket. I'm not sure about the factory Sirius. My feeling is it would be very difficult and probably not financially feasible. I'm sure somebody else has tried and will chime in on that. You could get an aftermarket Sirius unit and hook it to the aux input, but that's kinda hokey looking.