The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums (https://themustangsource.com/forums/)
-   '10-14 Exterior Modifications (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f802/)
-   -   Painting lower valance ? (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f802/painting-lower-valance-496203/)

way2qk4u2c 6/6/11 05:58 PM

Painting lower valance ? pics added

Well been to a few body shops and they are saying not to paint the lower valance. The reason they are saying that is due to possible flaking off in the near future from rocks hitting it. They say the plastic is not really a good paintable source. My question is those that have it painted now what did you end up using to adhere to it and is it flaking off or causing any problems.

Is there a product out there that will make this possible that these body shops don't know about. I'm not a expert in painting so hope someone can steer me in the right direction. I really would love to paint my lower valance.

Big Poppa 6/7/11 02:07 AM

I'm no expert either, but I'll bet a paycheck that if the surface was properly prepared, primed and painted you wouldn't have a problem.

way2qk4u2c 6/7/11 06:16 AM

yeah i been researching the internet and some say it has to be sanded just right and primed alot of times and then some type of plastic adhesive additivie applied. Then put your paint on. I guess maybe the body shops i been to dont want to put the time into it. I don't mind doing the prep work but i just dont really know all the steps or how much to sand and if i sand to much will i ruin it etc. hmmmm

way2qk4u2c 6/7/11 06:39 AM

this is a start

Items:
Sandpaper
160 grit for really roughing the parts up to start.
1000 grit wet/dry for smoothing up prior to painting.
1200 grit mirror fine for wet sanding the primer and between coats.

Duplicolor adhesion promoter

way2qk4u2c 6/7/11 07:22 AM

or using this technique

1. Scuff it with a 600 scotch pad, you do not need to sand it smooth