Rocket City Mustang Club Huntsville, Alabama Chapter of The Mustang Club of America

Rare Shelby found!

Search this Thread

Old 12/12/07, 10:55 AM
Cobra Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rare Shelby found!

Well, found in someone else's garage, but hey....take it when you can get it....

Went to a church social the other night and found out that the fella who hosted the party has a '68 Shelby GT500 convertible. White/blue skunk stripes, 4-speed, single-carb 428. All of 66,000 miles...still on the original PolyGlas tires! I looked it over carefully and, while Im no expert, the only non-original things that jumped out at me were the battery and the heater hoses He bought in in 1985..from the original owner....for ~ 18k

Asked the owner how often he drives it.... "I was taking it around the block every nwo and then, but the carb is messed up now and I havent had it out in a year."
Anyone want to volunteer a carb rebuild?

Mike, how many 68 GT500 4-speed verts were made? What value are we looking at here?
Old 12/12/07, 10:59 AM
Cobra Member

I guess I gotta do this.
Old 12/12/07, 11:04 AM
Cobra Member

http://www.remarkablecars.com/ppads/...p/product/2120

they want over 120k for one that is restored...

most of the words I have for this can't be used on the forum.
Old 12/12/07, 11:11 AM
Mach 1 Member

Originally Posted by LMan
Well, found in someone else's garage, but hey....take it when you can get it....

Went to a church social the other night and found out that the fella who hosted the party has a '68 Shelby GT500 convertible. White/blue skunk stripes, 4-speed, single-carb 428. All of 66,000 miles...still on the original PolyGlas tires! I looked it over carefully and, while Im no expert, the only non-original things that jumped out at me were the battery and the heater hoses He bought in in 1985..from the original owner....for ~ 18k