Notices
2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Need Help installing digital shifter ( Gaslock not lighting up )

Search this Thread

Old 12/26/11, 08:04 PM
Zeb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need Help installing digital shifter ( Gaslock not lighting up )

Hello everyone,

I am in need of some guidance. You see, I'm not experienced in working on automotive stuff myself....but you have to give me credit for trying. I want to learn.

So, as a christmas gift, I received a Gaslock digital shift **** from American Muscle. ( Yes, I've heard all the opinions online from the web searches while I tried looking for help....it's a bit rice, and it doesn't serve a real purpose, but it was a nice gift. )

I got the center console off, and as far as wiring goes, I see the accessory ( or cigarette lighter ) wires are about what I need - it's just supposed to be simple live & ground wiring.

Like an idiot, I tried to get that plug out of the backside of the cigarette lighter for ever. Finally, I just decided I'll never use it and cut it. Then I stripped some plastic off the wires, giving me room to work, and hooked the two up....just like a ceiling fan, right?

Anyhow, I plugged the data cable into the shifter **** and started the car...no lights. Uh-oh.

Now I realize I'm at the point where I need to ask for help.

Help?
Old 12/26/11, 08:10 PM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Blown fuse?
Old 12/26/11, 08:17 PM
Zeb

Hmmm....well, maybe. I don't have a tester, but I would think it's something I am doing wrong. It's a 2011 with 6k miles on it, so I wouldn't think I'd blow a fuse just yet.

All I need to is cut the wire and wrap them around each other, right? Then on start I should get power.... ?
Old 12/26/11, 08:24 PM
Shelby GT350 Member