The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums (https://themustangsource.com/forums/)
-   2010-2014 Mustang (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f726/)
-   -   Likely moving to Germany ... need some advice (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f726/likely-moving-germany-need-some-advice-545804/)

5.M0NSTER 6/28/18 12:11 PM

Likely moving to Germany ... need some advice

Hey guys, so I will likely be moving to Germany for 3 years. I've been at my present company for 12 years, and I am an engineering group manager. I got offered an interesting position in Germany starting late fall. It's a 3 year expat assignment. Great advancement opportunity, guaranteed position on return, paid relocation, good financial setup, most expenses paid, shortcut to next promotion etc. Good for my career as long as I don't **** up. ;)

Only hang up right now is my dog. My Pitbull is considered dangerous, and I'm still trying to figure out if I can legally bring him. I think the answer is yes, but there are lots of conditions I need to navigate. We've had the dog since before we've had our daughter, so dog stays with us. He's family.

So I will likely be selling my house and cars, including the Mustang. I hear from Germans who work here that importing makes sense for Camaros, Challengers and Corvettes (low supply, high demand), but not for Mustangs. Particularly now that they are sold in Europe. I considered bringing my car over but that costs $4k, then another $2k for modified lights, and I would have to undo some mods to pass inspection upon arrival, plus a 6% import tax.... :doh:. And I'd have to do more work to it so it can survive the Ring and finding parts for these cars abroad is hard.

We would live near Stuttgart, so Hockenheimring is less that an hour away. Nurnbergring is about 2. Monza, Spa, as well as few other great tracks are 4-5h drive. Goal will be to hit them up at least once per year.