2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}

How to fix swirls on brand new car?

Search this Thread

Old 12/22/10, 09:01 PM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to fix swirls on brand new car?

When I picked up my car I noticed swirls on the paint under the bright light of the dealership's showroom. This being my first car I didn't think too much about it. However, it still bugged me.

So I went to see a detailer. They tried to remove the swirls by polishing the car. They informed me that the guy working on it tried it on a small section and was not successful. Short of painting the whole car they say it should be wet sanded. They also mention that the swirls are covered by something and that's why polishing did not work.

I am not an expert on this, but what's up with that? How reasonable does that sound? Even if the dealership put the car through a carwash or used someone who did not know/care what they were doing, shouldn't it be possible to remove the swirls by polishing?

At this stage I have no idea what to do. Any suggestions are appreciated.
Old 12/22/10, 09:32 PM
Cobra R Member

Pictures?

Are you sure the dealer didn't add them? Sometimes they think they're doing you a favor by having it 'buffed' when really all they do is never change the pad and use it on every car the past 10 years and just grind dust and other particulates into the clear coat... that wouldn't be a shocker. I'd make them fix it.

Here's an old thread but it's principles still hold true...
http://meguiarsonline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7011

But there's numerous of sites out there...
http://tinyurl.com/2vt6oet
Old 12/23/10, 05:23 AM
GTR Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Go back and talk to the dealer and have them get a detailer out to fix it. Simple swirls can be removed fairly easy with some mild machine polishing.
Old 12/23/10, 06:03 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 788 Likes on 574 Posts