The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums (https://themustangsource.com/forums/)
-   SN95 Mustang (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f693/)
-   -   2000 GT with incredible loss of power on warm or hot weather (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f693/2000-gt-incredible-loss-power-warm-hot-weather-546821/)

Intermittent_MustangGT 5/3/19 06:21 PM

2000 GT with incredible loss of power on warm or hot weather

Hello all! I'm new here looking for help. I am not a mechanic but I know a few things. It's been two years since I bought my 2000 GT with 60K miles, almost stock, just cat back Borla Touring's exhaust and Eibach's springs. I bought this car at the end of the summer of 2017 and is very clean inside, well maintain, etc but I felt a slow acceleration after a few days of driving it, as days pass by I checked the throttle pedal and it was very loose so I put a few zip tights and the car was running much better so I thought that that was the issue with the lack of power. I also noticed the car stalled on me a few times while parking in reverse only. Every week the car stalled at least once a week. My first winter I drove the car very little and the stalling didn't bother me that much until the summer came in and the first day of real high humidity and heat hit us is when I felt something bizarre! The car was running really bad, very sluggish, it felt like it was running with half of the engine, no loud sound from the exhaust and super heavy to the throttle. I thought the car was in limp mode but I never got a CEL. A month later the car stall while I was park but switching to another while I was waiting for the green light, in that moment I knew that this symptom was getting serious so I drove a few miles and did a quick stop at the only place that was open Sunday afternoon and the mechanic showed me a leak in the front seal of the tranny (auto). From there things got even worse because it was leaking right on top the cat's and