Notices
General Mustang Chat Not Tech or Model Year Specific

Ponies on The Run (Again)

Old 5/17/07, 01:35 PM
  #8981  
Bullitt Member
 
Agent MOO's Avatar
 
Join Date: October 14, 2004
Posts: 499
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by LEO_06GT View Post
What do you guys think??? Is it safe??
http://www.mossmustang.com/Shop/View...eIndexID=48225
erm.... if it ain't broke
Agent MOO is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 01:35 PM
  #8982  
Mustang Fanatic
 
LEO_06GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 24, 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 7,407
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Ray Man View Post
I said it was a good idea, I didn't say that I would use it

Well atleast I tried.

Originally Posted by Ray Man View Post
It probably needs a new drain plug
Originally Posted by 89Trooper View Post
Who's getting old and cenial (senile)?

I have an SCT.
Woops. I just forget that you got a tune since you don't have a CAI and the fact that you seem to be against doing peformance mods with your S-197.

EDIT***
My car was dynoed on a dynojet.
LEO_06GT is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 01:45 PM
  #8983  
 
Join Date: September 23, 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Ray Man View Post
Bill. did you go to the Mustang Cafe last night?
Yes, met up with JedCranium there (aka CPK Bill... sorry, those two names just seem to go together! ). He brought the Roush Stage 1 with him.. lookin' fine! He said he tried to talk you into going lastnight to the Meet.
I didn't bring my Stang, just dropped by to pick up some Adams spray for me and Leo and get some t-shirts.



Originally Posted by 89Trooper View Post
Oh, and my check engine light came on today when I started my car to come to work. Kinda curious what that's all about.
Code?



Originally Posted by 89Trooper View Post
Did you say it was a DynoJet? If it's a Mustang Dyno, I won't even accept your numbers.
It's a Dynojet.



I have to research what the deal is with 'actual' vs 'SAE corrected'? Do you know?
TacoBill is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 01:57 PM
  #8984  
GTR Member
 
89Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 26, 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,639
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TacoBill View Post
Code?
I have to research what the deal is with 'actual' vs 'SAE corrected'? Do you know?
Code: Don't know yet.
actual vs SAE - have no idea what you are talking about.
89Trooper is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 02:15 PM
  #8985  
 
Join Date: September 23, 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 89Trooper View Post
actual vs SAE - have no idea what you are talking about.
My findings:

Un-Corrected vs. Corrected Horsepower & Torque
The dyno and its computer output the horsepower and torque numbers for your vehicle. There are really two sets of numbers, un-corrected and corrected. Each dyno is subjected to different atmospheric conditions. To facilitate comparison, the "standard" is Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) standard J1349. The dyno results are "corrected" the this standard in order to accurately compare the "Numbers". Dyno numbers corrected to SAE J1349 alter the data to make it seem as if it was taken when the atmospheric pressure was 29.23 in/hg., the temperature 77°F and the humidity zero. Automatic measurement of the barometric pressure and ambient air temperature together with humidity measurement ensure repeatability between tests.
Always ask what correction factor was used to calculate the data when judging various performance products on the basis of dyno test results.



BOTTOM LINE:
If you want to know whether you are going to burn up the tranny with too much power on a cool, humid day, then go to the dyno and look at uncorrected power to see how exactly much power you have under these conditions.

But if you want to compare the effects due to modifications, or you want to compare several different cars at different times, then the corrected readings of the "standard" dyno will be more useful.
TacoBill is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 02:58 PM
  #8986  
GTR Member
 
89Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 26, 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,639
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OK, so how do I correct mine for the following:

30.08" Hg, 91.06 degrees F, 34% humidity?

Correction Factor: SAE Smoothing: 0
89Trooper is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 03:07 PM
  #8987  
 
Join Date: September 23, 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 89Trooper View Post
OK, so how do I correct mine for the following:

30.08" Hg, 91.06 degrees F, 34% humidity?

Correction Factor: SAE Smoothing: 0
I've read that you need your run file, then you can run it through the Dynojet program (can download it) to see the results from different corection factors.

But, since you don't have the file, maybe this will help?

The equation for the dyno correction factor given in SAE J1349 JUN90, converted to pressure in mb, is:



where: cf = the dyno correction factor
Pd = the pressure of the dry air, mb
Tc = ambient temperature, deg C
The pressure of the dry air Pd, is found by subtracting the vapor pressure Pv from the actual air pressure. For more information about pressures and calculation of the vapor pressure, see Air Density and Density Altitude.
The relative horsepower is simply the mathematical reciprocal of the correction factor.
TacoBill is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 03:09 PM
  #8988  
GTR Member
 
89Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 26, 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,639
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I know the cf is 0, though.
89Trooper is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 03:14 PM
  #8989  
 
Join Date: September 23, 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 89Trooper View Post
I know the cf is 0, though.
You got me there...

At least you'll be more edumecated on your next trip to the dyno.

I'm having a crash course before Saturday!
TacoBill is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 03:16 PM
  #8990  
Mustang Fanatic
 
LEO_06GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 24, 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 7,407
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TacoBill View Post
I've read that you need your run file, then you can run it through the Dynojet program (can download it) to see the results from different corection factors.

But, since you don't have the file, maybe this will help?

The equation for the dyno correction factor given in SAE J1349 JUN90, converted to pressure in mb, is:



where: cf = the dyno correction factor
Pd = the pressure of the dry air, mb
Tc = ambient temperature, deg C
The pressure of the dry air Pd, is found by subtracting the vapor pressure Pv from the actual air pressure. For more information about pressures and calculation of the vapor pressure, see Air Density and Density Altitude.
The relative horsepower is simply the mathematical reciprocal of the correction factor.
WTF?

Bill-
LEO_06GT is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 03:18 PM
  #8991  
 
Join Date: September 23, 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by LEO_06GT View Post
WTF?

Bill-


Hey, I was only trying to speak Tom's language!
TacoBill is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 03:27 PM
  #8992  
GTR Member
 
89Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 26, 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,639
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I downloaded the program from DynoJet. Justin (the dyno guy) gave me the run files and I fooled around a little bit with it and it's not even worth worrying about. I corrected up to a factor of 5 and it's miniscule.

HP went up a max of 2.
89Trooper is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 04:15 PM
  #8993  
GTR Member
 
89Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 26, 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,639
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This made me happy! I finally figured out how to work the dyno program and the files that Justin gave me. Here is a picture of all 4 of my dyno runs:

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f1...angs/dynos.jpg

The clutch was definitely slipping at Fantasy of Flight, too!! It looks like right around 3000 RPM is when the clutch starts to go south.

Light Blue Line: Best power, least amount of slippage.

Red Line: Same power until the clutch really slipped around 4750 RPM. You can see that right when the clutch slipped more, the power dropped.

Green & Dark Blue Line: Much less power, much more slippage.

Orange Line: What the RPM-to-MPH line should look like.

Can't wait to see what I'll get when the clutch can handle the power!
89Trooper is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 04:47 PM
  #8994  
 
Join Date: September 23, 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 89Trooper View Post
This made me happy! I finally figured out how to work the dyno program and the files that Justin gave me. Here is a picture of all 4 of my dyno runs:

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f1...angs/dynos.jpg

The clutch was definitely slipping at Fantasy of Flight, too!! It looks like right around 3000 RPM is when the clutch starts to go south.
How did you get the run files? Did you bring your memory stick along?

I'll be asking for my files as well so I can play around with the program.

Your results are similar to what I've read, just a small difference in HP.


On your graph, it's all over the place. Even between runs 2 & 3, where the MPH and torque is consistent, the HP isn't. Because of the clutch slippage?
TacoBill is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 04:50 PM
  #8995  
 
Join Date: September 23, 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 89Trooper View Post
I downloaded the program from DynoJet.
Did you download the Winpep7 7.5.2 software?

I haven't yet, but is it user friendly?
TacoBill is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 04:53 PM
  #8996  
GTR Member
 
89Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 26, 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,639
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How did you get the run files? Did you bring your memory stick along?
Justin emailed them to me.

On your graph, it's all over the place. Even between runs 2 & 3, where the MPH and torque is consistent, the HP isn't. Because of the clutch slippage?
I think so. The dyno only really measures torque. It then uses a formula to calculate HP. MPH and RPM are in that formula, so if they are screwed up, HP will be screwed up, too. To measure power you must already have an accurate measurement of work and the time required for the work to be performed.
89Trooper is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 04:58 PM
  #8997  
GTR Member
 
89Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 26, 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,639
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TacoBill View Post
Did you download the Winpep7 7.5.2 software?

I haven't yet, but is it user friendly?
Yes, that's where I got it. Once you understand how to change the graphs around it's easy. You have to click on the X and Y labels to change them. That's the part I finally figured out with Justin's help.
89Trooper is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 05:18 PM
  #8998  
 
Join Date: September 23, 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 89Trooper View Post
Yes, that's where I got it. Once you understand how to change the graphs around it's easy. You have to click on the X and Y labels to change them. That's the part I finally figured out with Justin's help.
Well, hopefully I'll get a hold of my files and you can show me how to tinker with it.
TacoBill is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 05:27 PM
  #8999  
 
Join Date: September 23, 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 89Trooper View Post
Yes, that's where I got it. Once you understand how to change the graphs around it's easy. You have to click on the X and Y labels to change them. That's the part I finally figured out with Justin's help.
Did you also have to download the RUN VIEWER/DEMO VERSION? Or just the Winpep7?

Are there any limitations on the demo (ie. limited number of access or exxpires in X number of days)?
TacoBill is offline  
Old 5/17/07, 05:55 PM
  #9000  
GTR Member
 
89Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 26, 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,639
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TacoBill View Post
Did you also have to download the RUN VIEWER/DEMO VERSION? Or just the Winpep7?

Are there any limitations on the demo (ie. limited number of access or exxpires in X number of days)?
The only thing I downloaded was the RUN VIEWER/DEMO VERSION.

Not sure about limitations.

Did you see my post above the one you quoted talking about the HP?
89Trooper is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Ponies on The Run (Again)


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.