The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums (https://themustangsource.com/forums/)
-   General Mustang Chat (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f657/)
-   -   New to Mustangs. How Long do they Last? (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f657/new-mustangs-how-long-do-they-last-540326/)

tbryanh 2/7/16 09:07 PM

New to Mustangs. How Long do they Last?

I am new to mustangs, and I want to pick up a used one for the daily commute to work.

How many miles do the engines and transmissions last? What years are good? What years are bad? Etc.?

I am looking at probably buying a 1998 or newer car. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

houtex 2/7/16 09:33 PM

It depends greatly on the year you pick, options of engine/transmission/rear end ratios, how it was driven before, and how you'll drive it when you get it.

In my case, I can say that a 2006 Ford Mustang GT, driven somewhat spiritedly, will last for 131,000 miles, with the only things done to her being a couple of brake jobs, some tires, a couple of battery and alternator swaps, and oh yeah, I lowered her 1" and put upgraded suspension parts, but that's it, and still going strong, although she's gonna need a new rear upper control arm next.

I can also say that a 1986 Ford Mustang SVO will just crap out all of a sudden for no dang reason, warping both the head and the block a full 1/4 inch out of flatness when the gasket between cylinders 1 and 2 just disappears at 75K.

Others will tell you that I'm speaking wrongly, and their '86 SVO is still going strong, and it's the 2006 Mustang that's just not dependable, having their transmissions or engine or ? poop out at 75K.

Mustangs, and cars in general, are like that. Some are just better somehow than others. Different build days, running changes, people treating them right before you got it, or not... You really don't know what you'll get until you get it.