The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums (https://themustangsource.com/forums/)
-   Introductions (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f650/)
-   -   Ford Man (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f650/ford-man-535821/)

gregaba 2/28/15 11:27 AM

Ford Man

Hi
I am retired now but have been a Ford man forever. I rebuild my first Ford engine when I was 12 years old with my dads held. It was a 239 ci flathead.
I was a certified master tech for as long as the ASE has been giving out the certifications.
I have had my own shop for 40 years and build race engines, hot rods and custom cars.
Glad to find this site because I have a problem with the MT 82 tranny in my 13 Boss 302 and can't seem to get much help from Ford. Don't want to do anything that will kill my warrenty.
Greg

Glenn 2/28/15 03:10 PM

I think your user name should be Ford man and the title of this thread should have been gregaba. ut Welcome just the same

gregaba 2/28/15 05:44 PM

Thanks but I figured that on this site there would all ready be someone with the Ford man name.
Greg

Glenn 2/28/15 06:12 PM

What is your trans doing? Is it still under warranty?

gregaba 2/28/15 06:39 PM

The tranny is locking out at 7000 rpm. The last time it happened I was merging on the turnpike and it locked up and I couldn't shift it. There was a semi coming up on me and the only way I missed him was taking the safety lane which is about 3 feet wide. It all so sounded like there was a ball bearing stuck in the gears.
Called Ford customer service and they made an appointment for me at the dealership.
The manager [who owns a 13 LS] and me went on a test drive with him driving and he told Ford he couldn't reproduce the problem, but he never ran it over 4500 rpm.
It is also hard to shift when cold, takes about two miles before it shifts ok. It is all ways real notchie.
The Ford manager told me I just didn't know how to shift a standard tranny.