The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums (https://themustangsource.com/forums/)
-   2005-2009 Mustang (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f637/)
-   -   Manual Transmission Shifting Techniques (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f637/manual-transmission-shifting-techniques-423753/)

atomicskiier01 10/24/05 01:37 PM

I am new to the manual transmission and do not have a lot of experience driving with people who have had them. I got my '06 GT last Monday and I am doing just fine getting around in it, but I have a few questions about common techniques. Mind you, I am not trying to increase my 1/4 mile time or anything :D , these are just general questions about driving a stick shift.

1) If I am coming up to a red light and KNOW that I am going to have to stop do I: a) push the clutch in, go to neutral and coast (using the brake) to a stop? B) pull out of gear (without using the clutch) and do the same? or c) downshift to brake (I'm not really sure how to do this the right way)?

2) It seems like I am reving up way too high (3-4000 rpm) between 1st & 2nd, 2nd & 3rd when I just want to take off at a normal speed. As I'm going in between these gears, it feels like I am taking a lot of time between gears, and my car actually slows down between shifts instead of constantly accelerating. What can I do to help this

3) Finally, downshifting to accelerate? This sounds really fun, and I know it can give you a great boost of speed (i.e. 5th to 4th to pass someone) but I am too scared to try it :crying: Can someone explain to me the proper way to do this?

4) If I am just driving around, say, a parking lot real slow, I usually have it in 2nd? Is it normal for the car to be somewhat loud (whirring and such) when driving like this?

5) If I HAVE to drive in the snow (I kept my old 1996 cavalier for this reason, but just in case), will starting in 2nd gear help with traction and reducing the torque to the wheels?