1994-2004 V-8 GT, GTS, Bullitt, Mach 1, and Cobra

Tune Question

Search this Thread

Old 7/28/06, 07:01 AM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tune Question

I'm starting to mod out my 2003 GT, so far I've added a catback exhaust and a CAI. I think my next move is to get a tuner so I can take a little more advantage of the mods that I've done.

My question is do I need to purchase a tuner to get the car tuned or could I just go to a speed shop, pay them a fee and have them tune it with their equipment? I guess my main goal with the tune is to tighten up the shifting and get and little more power.

I'm still a little new with all of this so it's kind of unclear to me. Looking around the net it seems like you may need to purchase the tuner first before you have a shop tune the car so I want to be sure.
Old 7/29/06, 05:59 AM
Mach 1 Member

I am in a similar situation to you. I am going to be buying a tuner very shortly.
If you take to a speed shop they can tune it for you without need for a tuner. If all you are looking to do is tune the car then there you go. I personally want to be able to change my tunes for different applications. I also want to be able to watch my engine (data logging) with the tuner, and possibly be looking towards having a dabble at tuning myself.
For me the best option is clearly the tuner but the decision is up to you.

http://forums.bradbarnett.net/showthread.php?t=50634

Take a look at the above thread. It might help a little in your decision.
Old 7/29/06, 06:09 AM
Mach 1 Member

Oh and welcome to the forums. This place is really helpful with people with good advice and you can learn a lot here. I know I have!
Old 7/29/06, 07:53 AM
GT Member

Cool, thanks for your help. I think being able to play around with the settings will be a help so I'm going to get tuner but I might take a trip to the speed shop just to get things together until I get the cash up for the CPU.