1994-2004 V-6 3.8 and 3.9L V6 Mustangs

Bought my first 2001 3.8L mustang knocking noise plus powersteering noise please help

Search this Thread

Old 5/2/20, 02:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bought my first 2001 3.8L mustang knocking noise plus powersteering noise please help

Hi guy's. I bought my first Mustang. It's a 2001 Ford Mustang. With 3.8L v6. It has issues. It has a knocking noise seem like coming from manifold or valve not sure but the noise goes away when warm. Also Power steering make noise. It has power steering oil. It act like if it has no oil. Please help guy's. I'm not a mechanic but would love to know what to look for. And possibility i do the repair. I don't work before other cars. But people please help me. Ty here two video

UPDATED 5/2/2020
I had to remove the passenger front tire. Guess what. While on park i lift it up to remove lugs and guess what my wheel turning freely like if there no preak. I notice
break pads are like new. Rest of the other tires break pads half way worn out. For this year of car. Can it be the piston?

Cold engine knocking noise goes away when warm

Another video when knocking is gone

Last edited by jcer93705; 5/2/20 at 06:45 PM.
Old 5/2/20, 04:09 AM
2013 RR Boss 302 #2342

Received 2,318 Likes on 1,729 Posts
Welcome and congrats on your first pony! Lots of good people here and I'm sure they will get your pony concerns straightened out in no time.
Old 5/2/20, 06:41 AM

Originally Posted by Mustang Freak
Welcome and congrats on your first pony! Lots of good people here and I'm sure they will get your pony concerns straightened out in no time.
Thanks.
Old 5/2/20, 05:14 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 670 Likes on 542 Posts
Get a mechanic's stethoscope. Or a decent piece of hose that's long enough. Here's why: