Notices
'10-14 V6 Modifications Place to discuss 2010 V6 modifications

Gear Swap Issues?

Old 2/9/16, 05:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gear Swap Issues?

Hi All,

'14 auto v6. I just had the gears changed to 3.73. I am waiting on Steeda CAI/Tuner to adjust the speedo. Here's the issues:

1) I now hear what sounds like a "whooshing" sound when I am slowing into a gear shift (from 3rd to 2nd maybe) as if air is being let out from the back of the car. (stock CAI atm)

2) When I am at/above 70mph (speedo is 100) I get a pretty noticeable rumble from the gas pedal when I stop accelerating -- I get the feeling of like friction/rubbing/vibration in the pedal. It's unnoticeable below 65-70. It's pronounced above 75.

Any experience with that? Is it possibly because the speedo/shift points haven't been adjusted? Mind you it is in 6th for a while at that point :/ Should have gone 3.55 I am thinking. I'm very new to it all and any insight or advice is much appreciated!
Old 2/9/16, 10:12 AM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 52 Likes on 47 Posts
Hello,

I spoke to one of our gear installers & he mentioned it could potentially be mechanical.

The driveshaft is spinning much faster with the new gears and it may be the shaft causing the vibration.

For the Steeda CAI & tune ... happy to help with pricing & support.

Best Regards,

TJ
Old 2/9/16, 02:35 PM
Cobra Member

Received 57 Likes on 34 Posts
Your pedal isn't connected to anything but an electrical wire and the firewall, it's not connected to your engine except with the wire. Any vibration you are feeling is probably from the rearend and is transferring through the body. These issues you mention have nothing to do with the gear ratio selection, sounds like an install problem which isn't uncommon on gear swaps. The new gears probably need to be adjusted better. Hope that helps.

Last edited by Ecostang; 2/9/16 at 02:39 PM.
Old 2/9/16, 06:00 PM

Originally Posted by tj@steeda
Hello,