2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

13 gt track pack ghig

Search this Thread

Old 5/21/15, 08:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
13 gt track pack ghig

Juse bought my first mustang! Woo hoo I love it. Came from a 500 whp import. So my question Is I bought the car used with 14k on it the previous owner definitely auto crossed the car, which its a track pack with brembo brakes. I took the brakes apart cause they were squealing noticed they were all rusty and 1 of the brake pad pins was coming out. Brake pads look good rotors have gotten hot but were not warped. The dust seals on the caliper were dry rotted and coming apart. Dealer told me they wouldn't cover them cause the brakes have gotten hot and it's a wear item. It's a track pack car that's what it was built for! I'm a mechanic by trade I'm also ase master certified, I'm not understanding this. Has anyone else had trouble with this. I feel it should be covered, it the caliper seal leaked it's a wear itwm and it's covered....anyone's thoughts.Maybe a Ford rep can explain better
Old 5/21/15, 10:16 PM
Cobra Member

Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts
Welcome. My son is looking for that exact same car.

Brakes are only covered for 12 and 12. If I were you I would get the pads you want and do it your self. That way there is no aggression. The caliper might get replaced.

Try taking it to another dealer. if they balk at it under warranty tell them you ll pay for the pads if they cover the calipers. I'm in Florida so we do not see much rust here.

Good Luck

Last edited by Jazzman442; 5/21/15 at 10:17 PM.
Old 5/22/15, 06:28 AM
Banned

Received 254 Likes on 230 Posts