Car Care Shine Up Your Stang for Show Season, Fix a Dent, And General Car Cleaning

Detailing tips

Search this Thread

Old 9/20/06, 12:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Detailing tips

I'm the owner of a new GT and I'm being really ****, probably too ****, about keeping it cleaned, covered, etc.

Having said that, I'm no expert at what it takes to maintain that show-car shine.

What do you folks use to wash, clean, polish your cars? What supplies and tools are must-haves?

Thanks. This is a great site with a bunch of great people.
Old 9/20/06, 01:17 AM
TMS West Coast Correspondent

Check the car care section here are some threads where I responded to similar questions:

http://forums.bradbarnett.net/showthread.php?t=53623 -

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arizona Stang
I am going to the store tommorrow to get some Meguiars products to wash and wax my black mustang. I really don't have any clue on what to get. This will be my first time waxing it and it has some swirl marks in the paint so what Meguiars products should I get? Thank you.

ALL OF THE FOLLOWING PRODUCTS ARE MEGUIARS UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED:

clay bar (only if you need it, after car is washed run your hand across paint and if you can feel any ABOVE SURFACE CONTAMINANTS then you need it, if its glassy smooth then you dont; pits and scratches and below surface problems dont apply): SMOOTH SURFACE KIT (has my car on the box...lol) and comes with 2 clay bars, case, detailer and microfiber

Ultra Plush wash mit

2 good size buckets with 2 grit gaurds (2 bucket wash method, PM me for details)

either the versa-angle face brush or a dedicated wash mit (make sure its soft) for the wheels

soap: gold class or nxt shampoo

wheel cleaner: depends on the wheels you have but to be on the safe side; Hot Rims ALL WHEEL CLEANER OR MULTI PIECE

drying:
- 1-2 water magnets
- 1-2 super suede drying cloths (microfiber like chamois)

windows:
- duo-fiber glass super towel (microfiber/cloth)